Skip Navigation

The Advanced Fuel Cells Implementing Agreement

Welcome to the website of the International Energy Agency (IEA) Implementing Agreement on Advanced Fuel Cells.

The Implementing Agreement for a programme of research, development and demonstration on advanced fuel cells began in 1990, and currently has 13 member countries: Austria, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Sweden, Switzerland, and USA.  Our aim is to advance the state of understanding of all members in the field of advanced fuel cells.

The focus of our work is the seven active Annexes (groups): members of which meet regularly to share technology and policy developments in their countries, companies and research institutions, for the benefit of everyone involved:

IEA Energy Technology Network

  • Fuel Cells for Transportation
  • Fuel Cells for Stationary Applications
  • Fuel Cells for portable Applications
  • Polymer Electrolyte Fuel Cells
  • Molten Carbonate Fuel Cells
  • Solid Oxide Fuel Cells
  • Systems Analysis – data facts and figures for fuel cells

The Advanced Fuel Cells Implementing Agreement is overseen by the Executive Committee, who meet twice a year to oversee the Agreement, to share the results generated within the Annexes, as well as to share and learn about developments in all member countries and companies.

Key Contacts

Role Chairman Vice Chair Vice Chair Secretariat
Name Prof. Dr. Detlef Stolten  Dr. Nancy Garland Dr. Ing. Angelo Moreno Dr. Louise Evans
Telephone No. +49-2461-61 3076 +1-202-586-5673 +39-06304 84298 +44 1235 753673
Email Detlef Stolten Nancy Garland Angelo Moreno Louise Evans

For information on the International Energy Agency please visit the main website,

The multilateral technology initiatives (Implementing Agreements) supported by the IEA are a flexible and effective framework for IEA member and non-member countries, businesses, industries, international organisations and non-government organisations to research breakthrough technologies, to fill existing research gaps, to build pilot plants, to carry out deployment or demonstration programmes – in short to encourage technology-related activities that support energy security, economic growth and environmental protection.
More than 6,000 specialists carry out a vast body of research through these various initiatives. To date, more than 1,000 projects have been completed. There are currently 41 Implementing Agreements (IA) working in the areas of:

  • Cross-Cutting Activities (information exchange, modelling, technology transfer)
  • End-Use (buildings, electricity, industry, transport) The AFC IA sits here
  • Fossil Fuels (greenhouse-gas mitigation, supply, transformation)
  • Fusion Power (international experiments)
  • Renewable Energies and Hydrogen (technologies and deployment)

The IAs are at the core of a network of senior experts consisting of the Committee on Energy Research and Technology (CERT), four working parties and three expert groups. A key role of the CERT is to provide leadership by guiding the IAs to shape work programmes that address current energy issues productively, by regularly reviewing their accomplishments, and suggesting reinforced efforts where needed. For further information on the IEA, CERT and the IAs, please consult

Latest Publications

Latest Publications

View all »

Privacy Policy | Website Cookies Policy | This website is hosted and maintained by Ricardo-AEA